Oh, so you want support? Have you given any?

This is not exactly something I wanted to address but a recent situation really irritated me to the point where I felt I needed to voice my opinion on this topic. If you’ve read my previous post then you are already aware that I am an artist. This is the first time in my life where I’ve really focused on pursuing a career as an independent artist. Prior to this year I was in college so I didn’t have the time or money to invest into my talent the way I wanted to. So now here I am 9 months later from graduating college and I made the decision to focus on my art. I want to perfect my technique and skills and I want to start my own handmade accessories company.

In the process of growing as an artist you want and need as much support as you can get. Now, when I mention support, I’m not necessarily speaking about people giving you money. There are many different ways that you can support someone, for example: shout outs through social media, sharing post, attending events, keeping in contact, basically any actions that are genuine and beneficial to a person. I guess I’m writing this because I expect fair treatment, after all the saying is “treat people how you want to be treated.”

There are quite a few different types of artist that I know and have watched them grow from the start to where they currently are. These artist are people that I’ve been “supporting”  by choice for years now and some of them I’ve even grown great bonds with but for some reason the support has never been reciprocated. The same people that claim they love your work and believe in you are the majority of the people who lack support toward you. My actions have always been genuine because I really do want to see everyone grow and succeed at what they want to do. At times when money is super tight for me, I will still make a donation or when I should be home working on me, I will still make it my duty to come out to an event and show support. I’m not asking for pity but I do believe in giving back and there’s nothing wrong with that.

We as artist are all in a hustle until we reach our point of success and the same way we want all this support, we should be willing to give some support as well. And it should come from your heart. I have art, I have products, I have bills, and I have feelings too. Point of my rant is lend a helping hand for a change,  have a heart and be willing to give back. RANT OVER.

Leave a Reply

